Wednesday, 9 February 2011

Southeastern United States


  • The southeast region includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.
  • Most populous states: Florida – 18 million, Georgia - 10 million & North Carolina - 9 million people.


  • Settlements by Brittish colonists (17th century) represent the predominant culture of the South.
  • English, Scots and Ulster-Scots (later called Scotch-Irish) settled in Appalachia and the Piedmont (18th century).

  • African slaves. American descendents of slaves constitute a 12,1 percent (2000 census) of the total American population and are United States' second-largest racial minority. A cultural blend of Christianity, foods, art and music characterize Southern Culture today.

  • Native Americans. Approximately 30 Indian tribes have been registered in the southeast area of the US. The most known are called The Five Civilized Tribes and include: the Cherokee, the Choctaw, the Chickasaw, the Creek, and the Seminole

No comments: