Monday, 26 September 2011


The Commonwealth of Massachusetts is a state in the New England region of the northeastern United States of America. It is bordered by Rhode Island and Connecticut to the south, New York to the west, and Vermont and New Hampshire to the north; at its east, the Atlantic Ocean. The state features two separate metropolitan areas - the eastern Boston metropolitan area and the western Springfield metropolitan area.

Massachusetts played a significant historical, cultural, and commercial role in American history.

Plymouth was the second permanent English settlement in North America, and Puritans settling Massachusetts in the 1630s dominated New England for many years.

Nickname: The Bay State

Motto: Ense petit placidam sub libertate quietem (Latin)


Capital and largest city: Boston


Flower: Mayflower

Largest Cities: Boston, Worcester, Springfield, Lowell, Cambrigde, Brockton, New Bedford, Fall River, Lynn, Quincy.

No comments: